A WRITER IS JUST A WRITER…

This is the way I feel about pretty much everything I do. I am not nearly as important as the Work and by making the Work more important than myself I become an indispensable part of it, and a vital component of something far greater than myself. At least for as long as I live. After that it’s out of my hands.

Wyrdwend

I think that is true in part. I never wanted to be a writer, per se. That is I am neither enamored of writing, or of being a writer. That is I never woke up as a kid or as an adult and said to myself, “I want to be a Writer! That’s all I’ve ever wanted to be my whole life...” That’s not me at all. I know a lot of people apparently feel that way, they think it a cool or important profession, in the same way some people think being an actor is some great thing. I do not. Not in and of itself anyway.

I think of it far more as being a very careful observer of important things and then a recorder of those things so that those observations will not have been wasted. That is to say that, to me, neither the writing…

View original post 204 more words

Leave a Reply

